Protein 4 PM Cherry Bombs (5 servings @ 150 cal/ea)

20130424-222851.jpg
Here’s to a new fun meal-type to add to our weekly cooking. Protein bar attempt two: success!

½ cup dried cherries
4 tbsp baking cocoa
1/2 cup dried coconut
3 scoops Hemp protein powder
2 egg whites
2 tbsp coconut cream
¼ cup almond flakes (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix egg whites and coconut cream with baking cocoa, coconut shreds, and Hemp protein.

Scoop out about half of a cookie sized lump and flatten in palms.

If you have patience, roll around a single dried cherry. If you’re impatient like me, dump the cherries in, mix, and spoon-scoop into a ball.

Roll the protein covered cherry in additional coconut shreds or almond flakes.

Place on parchment lined cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Protein 4 PM Cherry Bombs (5 servings @ 150 cal/ea)

  1. Very nice recipe!
    Lately, I’ve been mixing up organic chocolate powder with organic almond butter. All it takes is the chocolate powder, almond butter, a second jar, and a metal spoon (the plastic ones break…). And it’s a great mid-day snack, super healthy, really tasty, and I know exactly what the ingredients are!

    • Yum! Keeping it simple is taken for granted. I have a nut butter and 100% chocolate problem. After a work out I usually have a quarter bar with sun butter (I started making my own in the food processor and its less creamy but like you said I know what’s in it) and dates. No intense prep work or baking necessary and I SWEAR its better than a snickers bar.

      • I’m not sure it’s fair to compare healthy, home made delicious food to something like a snicker’s bar. I realize that there are some very very smart people who are paid a lot of money to engineer the snicker’s bar to be as addictively delicious as possible. But they fail on my sheet. Food doesn’t need to be engineered to be delicious. And I prefer strawberries.

        So, umm, to say it differently: I would take your after work-out bar over a snicker’s bar 100% of the time!

Leave a Reply

